Pin on Pinterest
Honoree Scott Murray, Title Sponsor Ron Haddock, and Emcee and Sponsor Jim Keyes

In early December 2021, more than 250 guests gathered to celebrate the Inaugural Unsung Hero Award honoring Scott Murray and benefiting the Scott Murray Scholarship Fund. The Fund provides financial assistance to individuals from the Dallas/Fort Worth area who have the desire to further their education but lack the necessary financial resources.

Former Dallas Cowboy Chad Hennings gave a moving speech about how Scott Murray is “the real deal, ” noting his decades of service on behalf of local nonprofits to raise millions of dollars. And in a surprise announcement, Scott agreed that The Scholarship Fund, founded in 1999, would become the Scott Murray Scholarship Fund going forward. It was a thrilling moment, receiving a standing ovation from the people in attendance that night.

The Texas State Fair-themed event featured entrepreneur stand-out Jim Keyes as Emcee and was held at the Fair Park Briscoe Carpenter Pavilion, surrounded by reminders of State Fair glory from years past. Hunter Sullivan and the Hunter Sullivan Band warmed up the crowd for the first hour. Dinner did not disappoint with dishes from the favorite recipes of star chefs David Holben, Richard Chamberlain, Dean Fearing, Kent Rathbun, and Sevy Severson.

The event raised more than $164,000 for the Scott Murray Scholarship. A special thank you to event chair Bob Hopkins and honorary hosts:

Mr. and Mrs. Tim Brown

Mr. and Mrs. Steve Durham

Mr. and Mrs. Chad Hennings

Mr. and Mrs. Stratton Horres

Mr. and Mrs. Daryl Johnston

Mr. and Mrs. Jim Keyes

Mr. and Mrs. David Martineau

Mr. Drew Pearson

Mr. and Mrs. Bob Schlegel


Sponsors included:

Ferris Wheel - $25,000

Sandra and Ron Haddock

 Bumper Car - $20,000

Mr. and Mrs. Steve Durham – Durham Family Foundation

Roller Coaster - $10,000

Chela and Norman Abdallah

Mr. and Mrs. Bob Schlegel

Merry-Go-Round - $5,000

Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Cooper

Mr. and Mrs. Jim Keyes

People Newspapers

Tilt-A-Whirl - $2,500

Mr. Michael Baum          

Mr. Jeff Schmid

Mr. Donny Anderson

Dallas Sports Commission/Monica Paul

ETHEA/Dalton Divakeran

Mr. and Mrs. Charles Feld            

Ms. Gigi Gartner

Mr. and Mrs. James Halpern       

Mr. and Mrs. Stratton Horres, Jr.              

J.M. Haggar Family Foundation 

Mr. Jim Krohn   

Mr. and Mrs. David Martineau  

Ms. Courtney Rogers

Ms. Cindy Brinker Simmons        

Mr. and Mrs. Jim Turner

UNT Dallas/ Monica Williams, PhD

Related Posts